The 8 limbs of Yoga

Updated: Aug 18, 2020

Adopting a Yogic Lifestyle, with out going to yoga class? Is that possible, very

much so.


By incorporating the principles and values of a yogi into your life.

8 Limbs of Ashtanga Yoga

Ashtanga means eight fold/ eight limbed path. This is a universal code of all who practice yoga in their lives, simple guidelines to live by to make a yogis life truly magical. I added some modern day translations to help you incorporate these principles in your life.

Yama is the first of the 8 limbs and means “restraint.” The five Yamas are:

ahimsa (non-violence) Try adopting a vegan plant based diet, and being more gentle with your words and actions towards yourself and others. Non violence does not only apply to not physically harming some one.

satya (truthfulness) in your actions and in words not just intention, energy is a dry snitch and it doesn't lie.

asteya (non stealing), taking what isn't yours applies to more physical object.

brahmacharya (moderation), a lost art. practicing moderation can build strong discipline.

aparigraha (not hoarding). hoarding builds clutter in the mind as well a false sense of security in material object (shoes, hats, clothes, etc).

Niyama is the second limb of yoga, referring to self-restraints or personal ethics, which include:

saucha (purity), in mind, body and spirit.

santosha (contentment), Being happy with what you have, not comparing yourself to others.

tapas (austerity), Proper use of your inner will power, resulting in discipline.

svadhyaya (self-study) taking time to learn pattern that you may have be caught up in negative or positive.

Isvara pranidhana (surrender to a Higher Consciousness). surrendering to what your concept of God may be.

Third limb, Asana means “seat” in Sanskrit and refers to the poses that are practiced in Yoga. A yoga posture should be stable and easy.

Pranayama is the fourth limb of the 8-limbed path of yoga and means life/energy retention or expansion. Pranayama refers to control of the prana (breath), puraka, (conscious inhalation), kumbhaka (retention of the breath) and rechaka (exhalation). Pranayama is the foundation of any Hatha yoga practice.

Pratyahara is the fifth limb of yoga and is the practice of withdrawing the senses from the outer world. Through this withdrawal, yoga practitioners heighten their inner awareness.

Dharana, the sixth limb of yoga, is “holding,” or concentration, and refers to the ability to focus exclusively on one object.

Dhyana is the seventh limb of yoga. It takes the practice of concentration on an object, dharana, to the deeper level of meditation. Taking Dharana the "holding" of concentration repeating it to go plunge into meditation.

Samadhi is the last of the 8 limbs in which the person meditating merges with the object of meditation. It has been defined as “Ultimate Bliss”, “putting together”, and “going towards sameness (sama).”

balanced structure